The Hiking World

Mount Kosciuszko

Schematic Charlotte Pass to the summit pin. Not a GPS track. DEM high 2,226 m. Cited 2,228 m is a landmark. Day walk; no trail permit. Kosciuszko NP vehicle entry is separate.

Last verified 2026-09-23 vs NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service

Byline

  • The Hiking World editorial · author

    Desk byline for seed records. Named surveying editors replace this once a trail is verified.

Figures marked provisional are seed data and still need verification. Source and last-checked date sit under each cited value.

Permits and fees

Quota / restriction: Day walk is unpermitted. Vehicle fee covers park access. Amount not stated on source this pass.

PermitCostQuota / restrictionIssuerSourceVerified
Kosciuszko NP vehicle entryOfficial sourceNot recordedDay walk is unpermitted. Vehicle fee covers park access. Amount not stated on source this pass.NSW National Parks and Wildlife ServiceNot recordedVerified 2026-09-23 vs NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service
loading map...

This line is a schematic. The files are not a GPS track. GPX · GeoJSON

Facts-36.435, 148.332
Distance6.54 km*
resolved-pin haversine; not a published trek length; not walking distance · 2026-09-23 · editorial · provisional
Ascent+455 m*
copernicus-dem:glo-30 high minus low · 2026-09-23 · dem · provisional
Descent0 m*
one-way stored · 2026-09-23 · provisional
High point2,226 m*
copernicus-dem:glo-30 · 2026-09-23 · dem · provisional
Low point1,771 m*
copernicus-dem:glo-30 · 2026-09-23 · dem · provisional
Routeout-and-back
Days1
Seasonunverified
GradeSAC T2 · YDS 1

Editorial v1 · Provisional catalog

DifficultyUngraded (schematic ingest)
SAC T2
Mountain hiking. Continuous trail, some steep ground, sure-footedness helpful.
YDS Class 1
Class 1. Walking on an established path; low fall risk.

Log in to view the elevation profile

Return is not doubled. typicalDays 1 is a placeholder.

Water

No water sources recorded.

Surface

Surface is not recorded. This field is filled only from an OSM surface tag, not from the grade.

Permits & fees

No permit required.

Getting there

No sourced gateway chain yet.

Trailheads

  • Charlotte Pass car-free: unknown
  • Mount Kosciuszko car-free: unknown

Log in to view trailhead transit detail

Hazards

  • Landmark 2,228 m is not this DEM.

Questions

Do I need a permit for Mount Kosciuszko?

No trail permit is listed as required on this record for Mount Kosciuszko.

Mount Kosciuszko permit quota and booking

Day walk is unpermitted. Vehicle fee covers park access. Amount not stated on source this pass.

How difficult is Mount Kosciuszko?

Mount Kosciuszko is graded SAC T2 · YDS 1. A sourced hazard on this record: Landmark 2,228 m is not this DEM.

How long is Mount Kosciuszko?

The length on this record is 6.54 km (provisional). Published figures may differ. See /guides/how-long-is-the-trail

Related trails

Featured in