The Hiking World

Grampians Peaks Trail

One pin: Dunkeld, DEM 249 m. Mount Zero unresolved. Cited about 160 km. Booked overnight sites. Spine incomplete.

Last verified 2026-09-23 vs Parks Victoria

Byline

  • The Hiking World editorial · author

    Desk byline for seed records. Named surveying editors replace this once a trail is verified.

Figures marked provisional are seed data and still need verification. Source and last-checked date sit under each cited value.

Permits and fees

Quota / restriction: Booked overnight sites. Amount not stated on source this pass.

PermitCostQuota / restrictionIssuerSourceVerified
Grampians Peaks Trail bookingOfficial sourceNot recordedBooked overnight sites. Amount not stated on source this pass.Parks VictoriaNot recordedVerified 2026-09-23 vs Parks Victoria
loading map...

Line download is the stored OSM geometry, simplified. It is not a surveyed GPS track. GPX · GeoJSON

Facts-37.649, 142.344
Distance160 km*
marquee cited ~160 km; not summed pins · 2026-09-23 · editorial · provisional
Ascent+0 m*
copernicus-dem:glo-30 high minus low · 2026-09-23 · dem · provisional
Descent0 m*
one-way stored · 2026-09-23 · provisional
High point249 m*
copernicus-dem:glo-30 · 2026-09-23 · dem · provisional
Low point249 m*
copernicus-dem:glo-30 · 2026-09-23 · dem · provisional
Routepoint-to-point
Days13
Seasonunverified
GradeSAC T3 · YDS 2

Editorial v1 · Provisional catalog

DifficultyUngraded (schematic ingest)
SAC T3
Demanding mountain hiking. Exposed sections possible; hands may be needed for balance.
YDS Class 2
Class 2. Simple scrambling, occasional use of hands.

Log in to view the elevation profile

typicalDays 13 is round(160/12), a placeholder.

Water

No water sources recorded.

Surface

Surface is not recorded. This field is filled only from an OSM surface tag, not from the grade.

Permits & fees

Permit
Grampians Peaks Trail booking

Log in to view cost, booking, and issuer

Getting there

No sourced gateway chain yet.

Trailheads

  • Dunkeld car-free: unknown
  • Dunkeld car-free: unknown

Log in to view trailhead transit detail

Hazards

  • Spine incomplete.

Questions

Do I need a permit for Grampians Peaks Trail?

A permit is listed as required for Grampians Peaks Trail: Grampians Peaks Trail booking. Status on this record is an official source.

Grampians Peaks Trail permit quota and booking

Booked overnight sites. Amount not stated on source this pass.

How difficult is Grampians Peaks Trail?

Grampians Peaks Trail is graded SAC T3 · YDS 2. A sourced hazard on this record: Spine incomplete.

How long is Grampians Peaks Trail?

The length on this record is 160 km (provisional). Published figures may differ. See /guides/how-long-is-the-trail

Related trails

Featured in