The Hiking World

Permit facts and issuer links, not legal or visa advice.

How we verify

Stored figure · 2026

Overland Track permit cost 2026

Statutory figures as stored on this record, in the issuer's currency. This is not a live tariff and not a booking page. This year's fee list

Last checked 2026-10-15

Cite this record

The Hiking World, Overland Track permit, verified 2026-10-15, https://www.thehikingworld.com/trails/overland-track/permit

How we verify · last checked 2026-10-15

Byline

  • The Hiking World editorial team · author

We don't sell treks. Some links earn us a commission; they are labelled, and they never change a figure, a label or which operators we list. Cite us with the trail URL and the read date.

Quota / restriction: Summer 2026/27 (1 Oct–31 May) is the season the issuer page states. Winter fee is unverified.

Conditions, fees and rules change. Confirm with the issuer and local authorities before you go. This is a reference, not a substitute for local advice. Terms

Permits and fees

We are not the issuer. Fees and rules change — confirm with the issuer before you pay. Issuer page.

Quota / restriction: Summer 2026/27 (1 Oct–31 May) is the season the issuer page states. Winter fee is unverified.

PermitCostQuota / restrictionIssuerSourceChecked
Overland Track walking fee (summer 2026/27)VerifiedAUD 312 adult / AUD 272 child / AUD 272 concession≈ US$208 on the first figure, rate as of 2026-09-24Summer 2026/27, 1 Oct–31 May; includes park entry; CPI-reviewedTasmania PWSIssuer pageVerified 2026-10-15 vs Tasmania PWS
Overland Track winter feeUnverified — not officially sourcedNot recordedSummer 2026/27 (1 Oct–31 May) is the season the issuer page states. Winter fee is unverified.Tasmania PWSIssuer pageChecked 2026-10-15, not stated by issuer

How to book / the process

Overland Track lists a permit as required: Overland Track booking fee. The legacy issuer field names Tasmania PWS. Reservation on the record is “required”. The fee table above is the whole tariff this desk holds. Each row keeps its own issuer, source link, status, and the date that source was checked.

What the government or park issues is the row whose status is official and whose issuer is a public body. What an operator adds — a package day rate, a guide wage, a lodge deposit, a jeep — is not in that row unless the notes say so. These notes do not describe an operator add-on. Do not read a blank as permission to skip a local rule.

The stored best season for the trail is Booking season 1 Oct–31 May (N→S); open year-round, winter register. Typical duration on the record is 6 days.A season window is not a permit quota. If the quota line names a lottery, a solo ban, or a closed month, that line is the restriction; the season string is only when the trail record says walking is usual.

Issuer page states summer 2026/27 (1 October–31 May): adult AUD 312, child AUD 272, concession AUD 272. Includes park entry. CPI-reviewed. Winter fee was not read and is not stored.

Read the cost in the currency printed on the row. A muted dollar line, when present, is this desk's dated snapshot for the first amount in that string. It is not the price the issuer charges, and it is omitted when this snapshot has no rate for that currency. Confirm the live tariff on the issuer page linked from the row before you pay anyone.

  • Overland Track walking fee (summer 2026/27): AUD 312 adult / AUD 272 child / AUD 272 concession. Issuer: Tasmania PWS. Status: Verified. Checked 2026-10-15. Restriction: Summer 2026/27, 1 Oct–31 May; includes park entry; CPI-reviewed. Source: https://parks.tas.gov.au/explore-our-parks/cradle-mountain/overland-track.
  • Overland Track winter fee: Not recorded. Issuer: Tasmania PWS. Status: Unverified. Checked 2026-10-15. Restriction: Summer 2026/27 (1 Oct–31 May) is the season the issuer page states. Winter fee is unverified.. Source: https://parks.tas.gov.au/explore-our-parks/cradle-mountain/overland-track.

Questions this record can answer

Do I need a permit for Overland Track?
A permit is listed as required for Overland Track: Overland Track booking fee. Status: Verified.
How much is the Overland Track permit?
Overland Track walking fee (summer 2026/27): AUD 312 adult / AUD 272 child / AUD 272 concession, issued by Tasmania PWS, checked 2026-10-15. Status: Verified.
Is a guide required for Overland Track?
This record does not state that a guide is required for Overland Track. Absence here is not a ruling that independent travel is allowed.
When should the Overland Track permit be booked?
Reservation on this record is "required". The best season stored for the trail is Booking season 1 Oct–31 May (N→S); open year-round, winter register. This page does not publish a booking window that the issuer page did not supply.
Can the Overland Track permit be refunded or transferred?
This record does not store a refund or transfer rule. Only the issuer named on the fee row can answer that.