The Hiking World

Permit facts and issuer links, not legal or visa advice.

How we verify

Stored figure · 2026

Refugio Frey permit cost 2026

Statutory figures as stored on this record, in the issuer's currency. This is not a live tariff and not a booking page. This year's fee list

Last checked 2026-10-25

Cite this record

The Hiking World, Refugio Frey permit, verified 2026-10-25, https://www.thehikingworld.com/trails/refugio-frey/permit

How we verify · last checked 2026-10-25

Byline

  • The Hiking World editorial team · author

We don't sell treks. Some links earn us a commission; they are labelled, and they never change a figure, a label or which operators we list. Cite us with the trail URL and the read date.

Quota / restriction: Mandatory trekking register. No park access fee on this trail.

Conditions, fees and rules change. Confirm with the issuer and local authorities before you go. This is a reference, not a substitute for local advice. Terms

Permits and fees

We are not the issuer. Fees and rules change — confirm with the issuer before you pay. Issuer page.

Quota / restriction: Mandatory trekking register. No park access fee on this trail.

PermitCostQuota / restrictionIssuerSourceChecked
Nahuel Huapi trekking registerVerifiedNo park fee; trekking register is freeMandatory register for trekking. No park access fee.Administración de Parques Nacionales (APN)Issuer pageVerified 2026-10-25 vs Administración de Parques Nacionales (APN)
Refugio Frey overnightReportedNot recordedBunk or camping fee not stated. CAB is a private club, not APN.Club Andino Bariloche (CAB)Issuer pageread 2026-09-24

How to book / the process

Refugio Frey lists a permit as required: Nahuel Huapi trekking register. The legacy issuer field names Administración de Parques Nacionales (APN). Reservation on the record is “required”. The fee table above is the whole tariff this desk holds. Each row keeps its own issuer, source link, status, and the date that source was checked.

What the government or park issues is the row whose status is official and whose issuer is a public body. What an operator adds — a package day rate, a guide wage, a lodge deposit, a jeep — is not in that row unless the notes say so. These notes do not describe an operator add-on. Do not read a blank as permission to skip a local rule.

The stored best season for the trail is unverified. Itinerary length in days is not published on this record.A season window is not a permit quota. If the quota line names a lottery, a solo ban, or a closed month, that line is the restriction; the season string is only when the trail record says walking is usual.

No park fee. The mandatory trekking register is free on the Nahuel Huapi register page, checked 2026-10-25. Club Andino Bariloche bunk and camping stay a separate reported row. The bunk price is not stated.

Read the cost in the currency printed on the row. A muted dollar line, when present, is this desk's dated snapshot for the first amount in that string. It is not the price the issuer charges, and it is omitted when this snapshot has no rate for that currency. Confirm the live tariff on the issuer page linked from the row before you pay anyone.

  • Nahuel Huapi trekking register: No park fee; trekking register is free. Issuer: Administración de Parques Nacionales (APN). Status: Verified. Checked 2026-10-25. Restriction: Mandatory register for trekking. No park access fee.. Source: https://nahuelhuapi.gov.ar/registros-trekking-escalada-esqui-travesia/.
  • Refugio Frey overnight: Not recorded. Issuer: Club Andino Bariloche (CAB). Status: Reported. Checked 2026-09-24. Restriction: Bunk or camping fee not stated. CAB is a private club, not APN.. Source: https://nahuelhuapi.gov.ar/registros-trekking-escalada-esqui-travesia/.

Questions this record can answer

Do I need a permit for Refugio Frey?
A permit is listed as required for Refugio Frey: Nahuel Huapi trekking register. Status: Verified.
How much is the Refugio Frey permit?
Nahuel Huapi trekking register: No park fee; trekking register is free, issued by Administración de Parques Nacionales (APN), checked 2026-10-25. Status: Verified.
Is a guide required for Refugio Frey?
This record does not state that a guide is required for Refugio Frey. Absence here is not a ruling that independent travel is allowed.
When should the Refugio Frey permit be booked?
Reservation on this record is "required". The best season stored for the trail is unverified. This page does not publish a booking window that the issuer page did not supply.
Can the Refugio Frey permit be refunded or transferred?
This record does not store a refund or transfer rule. Only the issuer named on the fee row can answer that.